I, the Living… Aye, the Living — or is it Eye the Living?

Everyone is searching for answers. Most are searching for answers to the primary human question, why am I here?

It comes down to this, what does it mean to be an authentic human being? The word “authentic” is interesting. It is rooted in self-authority.

This above all: to thine own self be true,
And it must follow, as the night the day,
Thou canst not then be false to any man.

Authenticity is a rare treasure in this world. Being authentic means being true to myself. In order to be authentic, then, I need to discover my basic purpose in life. Gnothi seauton… know thyself! This has been a lifelong quest but I have not been very good at it. I’ve been sidetracked and often even self-deceived. I’ve looked outside of myself; toward religion and toward heroes and, at the end of 53 years on earth, I can only say that I really do not know myself very well, at all.

Well, here in this humble blog is my chronicle of self-discovery late in life. This is my dedicated search to really finding myself. Finally!

Now what? 🙂

Standard

Leave a Reply

